Yeast When You Think You’ve Figured It All Out

Apparently, every time I start feeling better I buy into all the people around me who believe health comes and goes and that elimination diets simply mask spontaneous remission. Well, I have to remind myself… I’m not better… I just have allergies.

So I’ve kept up with my elimination diet, something that would make anyone proud.

But I decided to do to the health food store (as I have written before, it is the most dangerous place on earth because processed foods look healthy there) and picked up Nutritional Yeast and Packaged Salad Dressing.

I started feeling crappy yesterday after a few sprinkles of the flakes of death and didn’t put it together but went to a healthy vegan place today for lunch and I picked a salad that has everything I usually eat, with dressing, seeds and lots of nutritional yeast.

Before I realized what was happening, this afternoon I became itchy, depressed, lethargic and pouring nutritional yeast all over snacks at home. Food cravings for unhealthy foods off the charts… and cravings for N.Y. off the charts.

Then I realized, this is how bread makes me act/feel. Right now I don’t care about anything other than going into the kitchen and eating the whole container of nutritional yeast. Definitely the allergy/addiction syndrome. Before I quit bread I would do horrible things like eating 5 baskets of it in the restaurant, finishing large pizzas alone and of course sitting in the parking lot at Wegmans eating loaves of fresh baked garlic bread. If the world was ending, I would do it again in a heart beat. But having suffered with a lifetime of fatigue and depression that has been unresponsive to medication and goes away on a strict diet or juice fast I am pretty sure where I stand with myself and the white stuff.

Depression/fatigue is so funny, even though I have felt amazing all week when it comes it makes you feel like the world is ending and you will never ever get better so should just go on a food binge. I need to remember that this too, shall pass.

Super stoked to have a decent health insurance plan through the new system so I can go get tested soon and find out exactly what is good and what is a trigger in case there are foods I am missing… as there unfortunately seem to be many. Yeast unfortunately is going to go on the list & the rest of the container… into the dog’s food. It’s good for them, just apparently not for me.

no marmite

 

A little research pulled up this list of products that contain significant yeasts, most of which I have already indicated as triggers. I have been known to eat Marmite from the jar and used to eat cheese by the pound.

  • Anything fermented (vinegar, alcohol, bean paste, soy sauce, etc.)
  • Any baked good with baker’s yeast (pizza dough, bread, etc., including most sourdough breads)
  • B Vitamins, unless stated that they are not from yeast
  • Barley malt
  • Beer
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Buttermilk
  • Canned or bottled juices
  • Cheese (all kinds)
  • Cider
  • Citric Acid (this used to be made from citus juice, but is now made from fermented corn)
  • Dried fruits such as apricots, figs, or raisins
  • Flavor enhancer (usually MSG, though it may also be yeast extract)
  • Ginger Ale
  • Grapes
  • Jams/ Jellies
  • Lactic acid (generally made from fermented corn or potatoes)
  • Liquor
  • Malt
  • MSG (produced from fermentation of starch or sugar)
  • Mushrooms
  • Raisins
  • Aged meats (sausage, bacon, etc.)
  • Black tea
  • Grapes
  • Malted barley flour
  • Olives
  • Peanuts and peanut products
  • Preserved or pickled foods
  • Root beer
  • Soy sauce, miso, tamari
  • Strawberries
  • Tempeh
  • Vinegar (and foods containing vinegar, such as olives, mustard, ketchup, etc.)
  • Wine
  • Yeast extract  (autolyzed, hydrolyzed)
  • Yeast spreads such as Vegemite or Marmite, etc.

 

 

Leave a Reply

